Backlog: Video Book Trailer

I’ve done many assignments in order to earn my MLS, but this one was by far the most enjoyable. We were to choose a young adult novel we enjoyed and create a video book trailer for it.  A video book trailer is tantamount to what Reading Rainbow did, commercials for books.  I read a couple of YA novels before finally settling on Daughter of Smoke and Bone.  I loved the tone and setting of the book, so I knew I could make something interesting in terms of a video book trailer. I had rented a DVD from the library about Lotte Reiniger and her shadow puppet animations.  I think it was part of the reason I chose Daughter of Smoke and Bone, because it could lend itself so well to that sort of interpretation.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy my video. I’m proud of it so I am going to share it, though I know it’s not as awesome as say…http://youtu.be/VF9-sEbqDvU or http://youtu.be/MQM8Gkisn3w.  But whatever, man, I’m a beginner!  I’m glad I tried it.

Dengel and Boinx at work, screen of a screen of a screen of a screen…
We did this in between every.single.shot
References; had to print them out b/c I had never been to Prague
I got this skyline from layering pages of rice paper
3 thoughts on “Backlog: Video Book Trailer

Leave a Reply

